Products
Ideabooks
Discussions
Professionals
Users
Upstairs foyer
fairviewbonnie
November 9, 2012 in Design Dilemma
Just painted the banister black. Now trying to figure out what to do with the area. One thought is to do a wall of black framed pictures and no furniture. Open to any ideas. I already know the left over furniture needs to go.
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
charleee
If you have kids, this looks like the perfect place for video game playing. It can't be seen from the common area so who cares about the cords? A couple of bean bag chairs and happy campers.
1 Like   November 9, 2012 at 7:54AM
fairviewbonnie
We are now grandparents, so the reading nook idea is very appealing. love the link with the white wall cabinet, cozy chair and light. I guess I would have to have that built! Thanks! This is my first time using this site and I am most impressed.
6 Likes   November 9, 2012 at 2:39PM
Christine
Library.
1 Like   November 9, 2012 at 4:12PM
Yvonne Kronberg
Love the black bannisters! How did you do that? What kind of paint/stain? Looks like it was a lot of work!
1 Like   November 9, 2012 at 4:27PM
PRO
Stanton Designs-online design services
Or you could do your stairway wall as a picture wall and then you won't be left with the blank wall. And think of what you need this space to function as...don't be afraid to set chairs or small furniture in front of the railing.
1 Like   November 9, 2012 at 4:30PM
fairviewbonnie
Yvonne, the way I painted the banisters is...use only Wooster's sponge brushes, clean the wood with a cleaner, sand it using a fine sandpaper, wipe clean, wrap the white spindles with the blue tape at the top, then paint banisters with low sheen oil black paint, remove tape a few hours after finishing, use q-tips and turpentine to clean up any oops! (oh, and I applied two coats of black paint). That is how you do it!! thanks for your comments.
2 Likes   November 9, 2012 at 7:24PM
designboy